River Poker Series Main Event Won by November Niner

The November Nine are the remaining nine players who will return to the felt this fall to finish out the World Series of Poker Main Event. Each player would be expected to currently be competing in big events to rev up their skills for the WSOP competition. Gordon Vayo is one such member of the November Nine who has been hitting the felt and recently used his skills to take down a big event.

Vayo was competing in The River Poker Series $2,500 Main Event which offered up $2.5 million in guaranteed prize money. Vayo was able to outlast the competition at the WinStar Casino to claim the first place prize of $587,120.

1,054 players competed in the event and after a five way deal was made between the five remaining players, Vayo would find himself earning the title. The win marked the first time this year that Vayo was able to earn a final table finish, apart from earning a seat in the Main Event of the WSOP. When the pro comes back to compete in the WSOP event, he will be third in chips.

It is interesting to note that the River Poker main event finished up with a final five deal, most likely due to the big top prize of $1 million. The difference between the first place finish and second place was over $700,000 if players had decided to keep in line with the official payout structure.

In the end, Vayo took a huge lead and had over half of the chips in play when he decided to strike a deal for the final payouts. He was eventually given more than 20% of the total prize money based on the amounts agreed upon by the final players.

Final Payouts:

First                       Gordon Vayo                     $587,120

Second                 Benjamin Ector                 $344,826

Third                      Dean Bobel                         $225,048

Fourth                  Layne Flack                         $225,190

Fifth                       Grant Hinkle                       $207,669

Sixth                      Long Nguyen                     $70,054

Seventh               Jeffrey Duvall                    $40,893

Eighth                   Daniel Fuhs                         $32,623