WSOP Announces Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen for Poker Hall of Fame Induction

It was announced today by the World Series of Poker that Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen will be the next two individuals inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame. The players will mark the 51st and 52nd inductees of the Poker Hall of Fame, with a formal ceremony taking place on October 26th at Binion’s Gambling Hall.

Binion’s Gambling Hall, located in the downtown area of Las Vegas, played host to the WSOP beginning in 1970 to 2004. The ceremony will begin at 7:00pm, with both men being honored during the start of the final table of the Main Event tournament on the 30th.

The public brought the list of inductees down to ten individuals and these finalists were then voted on by a panel which consists of the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame as well as those involved in the media. This vote determined that Brunson and Mortensen will be the next inducted.

Additional finalists who were up for the vote included:

  • Chris Bjorin
  • Humberto Brenes
  • Eli Elezra
  • Bruno Fitoussi
  • Chris Moneymaker
  • Max Pescatori
  • Matt Savage
  • David Ulliott

Brunson commented on being named an inductee by stating that it is a true honor to be inducted by his peers into the prestigious institution. Brunson talked about how he grew up going to the ceremonies and that he has always respected and admired the members. He considers joining the ranks an honor of a lifetime.

Mortensen also commented on being inducted, stating he has played the game for over 20 years as a professional. The game has given him many things that he cherishes and he has always wanted to be included among the great players of the game who make up the Poker Hall of Fame. He is very happy to be included in the company of such legends.


Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.